## 2015 Annual Report of KORA Committees, Subcommittees, Service, Special Interest Groups and Support Groups

## Name of Group: Transportation Standing Committee

Chair 2015: Barbara Barna

Chair since: 2015

Chair 2016: Barbara Barna

1. Current Mission Statement:

- A. To work with the Transportation Coordinator and Kendal at Oberlin administration to arrange bus transportation for medical, cultural, shopping and community events.
- B. To facilitate personal transportation by providing printed information about transportation options for non-drivers.

2. Changes to mission statement: \_\_\_\_\_Yes or \_\_\_X\_\_\_No. Indicate changes as necessary

3. Summary of activities and accomplishments:

A. A major focus of the TSC remains the goal of improving transportation for non-drivers. The Kendal surveys completed last June emphasized the inefficiency of the current bulletin-board listings for a Ride-share system, and the committee has been gathering data on how other communities deal with this problem. Potential use of a computerized Ride-Share program is also under consideration.

B. Donna Smith reported on the purchase of a new wheelchair accessible vehicle which will replace the old 2005 Chevy van. This will provide easier access and exit for wheelchairs.

4. Problems? Needs? We hope that Donna Smith makes a full recovery and can rejoin the TSC soon. We miss her expertise!

5. Plans for 2016 and future: The committee will continue to be represented at meetings of the Lorain County public transportation advocacy group which continues through 2016.

6. Members of the committee:

Elizabeth Aldrich	Barbara Bruer	Sam Goldberg
Allen Huszti	Ray LeGrand	Edward Long
Anne Martin	Don Norenberg	Diantha Pare
Donna Smith	Priscilla Steinberg	Barbara Barna